iBluever NOW AVAILABLE for 5$ on Cydia!

An App by Eric Day, iBluever, which allows iPod touch users to Tether their Device to any Bluetooth Enabled Mobile Phone (Supporting Dial-up Networking Profile) was released on Cydia Store. We all were waiting for this Hack, for a long time! Eric Day (@smartype) released two versions on Cydia Store, THE DEMO VERSION (iBlueverDemo) for FREE and FULL VERSION (iBluever) for $5.

I have been testing with Demo Version and was totally amazed! THE APP WORKS LIKE A CHARM. [Harry Potter movies isn’t better! :D]

What does this App do?

– This App, add Bluetooth Dial-Up Networking Profile to your iPod touch. It allows iPod touch users to Connect their iPod touch to a Bluetooth Enabled phone to use it’s Data (GPRS/EDGE/HSDPA) on their iPod touch. This CONVERTS yours iPod touch to an iPhone 3G.

Requirements

iPod touch (2G or 3G only)

– Mobile Phone (Supports, Bluetooth DUN and with working Data Connection- ANY CARRIER)

iPod touch Jailbreak with Cydia/Icy (BigBoss Repository)

MY REVIEW:

The App Totally ROCKS!

It’s the BEST money you will spend ever on Cydia or App Store.
I am using iBluever with iPod touch (2G) and Motorola RAZR V9.

I am using Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Ltd. (MTNL) UNLIMITED HSDPA PLAN. (In India)

The App will totally surprise you! I tried many Apps with iBluever, some worked and some didn’t.

Apps Worked!

Safari, Mail, Tweetie 2, Google App, AIM, Facebook, Opera Mini, Maps App (Current Location CANNOT be found. GPS or Triangulatory Cellular Location doesn’t work.) , Stocks, Wikipanion +, WordPress, Flixster.

Apps NOT Working!

YouTube, App Store, WhatsApp, BeejiveIM, Skype, Palringo, Google Earth, Ping!


Apps most used by me are WhatsApp, Mail, BeejiveIM, Facebook and Tweetie 2.

Most of them are working and its pretty exciting for iPod touch users to access these services OUTSIDE a WIFI Zone!

__________________________________________________________________________________

*Note

i am not using 3G Unrestrictor, therefore some Apps might work with 3G Unrestrictor.

If you want me to TEST “Any Particular App” from App Store, with iBluever, Please leave a comment and I will definitely help you out.

For any other clarifications or Details, either ‘Leave a Comment’ or visit www.ibluever.blogspot.com

Please don’t be Confused by the “AT&T Logo with Signal Bars” in the Screen Shots. It’s a theme: iPod2iPhone.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Here are Pictures of my iPod touch accessing HSDPA via iBluever.




Hope you enjoyed this Post! This App takes this AWESOME piece of Technology (iPod touch) TO THE NEXT LEVEL!

UPDATE: Confirmed: iBluever DOES NOT work with iOS Devices, i.e. iPhone to iPod touch and iPhone to iPad tethering is not allowed.
iTether a new App by Eric Day will do that.

UPDATE: iTether is now out on Cydia for 5$.
Go buy it!

About Amod Agrawal

CS @ Illinois. Grad student.

Posted on 01/05/2010, in Technology! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. I connected ibulever to my T-mobile BlackBerry 8250 and this app s awesome.

    If you have an 8250 use epc.tmobile.com as your APN. That was a bit tricky since all I could find on the net was wap.voicestream.com. That won’t work I used my Blackberry desktop manager and looked at the BT configure to get the correct APN. Once I did that I was was even running Ytube with no issues on Edge.

    Well worth the $5 for an App that Steve apparently wants to block. This is a lot cheaper than an iPhone plan. $29 unlimited on tmobile.

    • @Bob

      Hey! That’s a very good news!
      My YouTube is loading but it is not able to stream videos.
      Hmm… I think this is because, you are using Full Version. Anyways, Do you have WhatsApp?
      It would be very kind, if you could check whether WhatsApp via iBluever is working or not! Because ITS NOT WORKING WITH DEMO VERSION.

    • Hi Bob,

      What did you use for the other settings such as dial number and chat script? I also have tmobile with a blackberry but can’t see to establish the ppp connection. Thanks

  2. do you need internet on your phone for this to work

    • Hi Joshua,

      Yes Ofcourse, you need Internet on your phone.
      You can use GPRS/EDGE/HSDPA.
      You must have a DATA PLAN by your carrier.
      If you have any other queries, please inform me.

  3. I bought the iBluever for $5 from cydia but it stops working after about 100kb of data downloaded from my gprs nokia 6300 phone. Anyone else facing this issue ?

    • @Kumar

      Well, that used to happen with me too.
      It’s a RFCOMM problem. Are you updated to the latest version, because in 1.0.15v, RFCOMM has been fixed.
      Please reinsall or update to latest version and try again.

  4. Hello, can you check if ibluever works with the app ‘words with friends’? It uses a very small amount of data and I want to be able to play when I’m away from wifi. Thanks!

    • @Mark.

      Hey Mark,
      Thanks for commenting.
      It’s good to know that my Blog is helping people.
      I tested “Words with Friends Free” with iBluever.
      It’s working perfectly alright.
      I was able to play that game online, also i was also able to post my score to Facebook and Twitter.
      Go ahead and use iBluever!
      If you have ANY other questions, please consult my Blog and feel free to comment. i will definitely help you! 😀

      Regards,
      Amod Agrawal

  5. Hi, I have one great problem:
    This message appears after i habe made the settings under apn.

    This is the message:
    “starting RFComm connection ibluever…”
    nothing more will happen.

    I have no idea what to do.
    Please help

  6. Nice blog Amod!

    Any ideas how to get ibluever app on my i pod touch to work w/ my blackberry tour? I have Verizon Wireless as my carrier.

    Thanks!

  7. Thanks for the tip but i followed your instructions but ibluever just keeps searching for dial up networking serv…

    I checked out all the settings on here and the ibluever site and still no luck. Have you come across anyone who has gotten ibluever to work w/ a blackberry and Verizon?

    • Ok. These things should be made sure:

      You’re using the correct APN (Access Point Name): You can all Settings Information from iBluever Blog.
      Eric Day made a database where everyone could enter their settings and YES, iBluever works with BlackBerry Verizon.

      You must have Tethering Service (from Verizon): Some Carriers make you buy the service like AT&T.

      Checkout Database on http://www.ibluever.blogspot.com

  8. I bought and installed the full version and after relaunching the Springboard, my iPad locks up and will not load. It just sits on the load screen with the Apple and eventually turns off. I had to restore from backup.

    Has this happened to anyone else and/or any ideas how to fix?

  9. Hi,

    I too, have a Verizon Wireless/Blackberry.
    I left the APN blank and it connected successfully. Then to test the connection, I went into Safari. I went to http://www.google.com... It started to load then it went to a page verizon put up telling me to subscribe to the tethering service. I do not want to pay a monthly fee to accomplish this. Is there a work around?

  10. Yee-Haw!!! I got this to work tethering my wifi iPad on my tmobile tap!!! So for $10 a month, I get 3g internet on my iPad!!!
    For anyone else out there who needs help, my settings are:

    Access Point: wap.voicestream.com
    Dial Number: *99#
    Account and Password left blank
    Chat Script: Nokia GPRS

    Thanks Amod for you help!

  11. Hey everybody i really liked this forum i think its the most useful on the web!! other forums they think crazy if u ask to connect ipod and cellphone!! so m very grateful! only 1 question i have

    Does IBluever work with Ipod Touch 4 (4.1)??

    Thanks!

  12. I would really love to have this IBluever for my IPT4 and
    willing to purchase if I get the demo working. I have a T-Mobile
    data plan, phone is Samsung Gravity 2 SGH-T469. I’ve downloaded the
    demo, ipt4 is jailbroken (thethered 4.2.1) but Ibluever never lists
    my phone when searching. Bluetooth enabled on samsung, not enabled
    on ipt4. Tmobile Access name – internet2.voicestream.com,
    wap.voicestream.com, and epc.tmobile.com – Tried all three and none
    work. What am I doing wrong? Could someone please help?

  13. Finally got it to recognize my phone. I went through admin settings for the Gravity 2 and did some kind of FW upgrade I think (Oh goodness lol) First time I had ever even been in those settings.

    Anyway, now it recognizes my phone when searching, and I have tried so many different combinations, authenticate on/off, wait for sdp on and off, tried different scripts. I just cant get it to connect. The main error I keep getting now is No RfCOMM Channel 😦 Any ideas?

  14. I have a Samsung Messenger Touch with clear talk carrier. how do i find the Access point?

  15. hi i downloaded the demo worked perfectly, bought the app and now getting the ppp disconected in the log it said LCP ConfReq was rejected i tride different scrips no luck! uninstalled it and reinstalled the demo works perfect!! then back to the full ver no worky please help!!!

    • Sorry. I have no idea why that is happening! Extremely weird. Contact Author telling him that Demo worked and full version is not working for you. Very weird indeed.

  16. i can’t seem to install Ibluever either the demo or/and full version

    if anyone can help me out

  17. I need to know how to get my access point. i have a samsung SCH-R631 for cleartalk. any help?

  18. Milan Kalal

    I have Nokia 6303 Classic and iPod Touch 4G with ibluever Demo.
    I managed to get these two beasts to exchange the PIN code.
    But never got the full connection.
    From the end of the Log file:
    ….
    > RFCOMM L2CAP connection established
    > Starting RFCOMM connection
    > Ask for Bluetooth passkey
    > Link key was generated for remote device

    As there is no PIN to prefill in the Demo version, I simply put in 0000 when asked.
    And then on the other device the same.
    Seemed to work.
    But with the last info line above it always waits, then disconnects…
    Any good idea at which stage it happened?
    And why?

    Thank you in advance…

    Milan Kalal

  19. Where do i find the app bluever been trying to locate it willing the pay the 5

  20. Thanks for the good writeup. It actually used to be a entertainment account it.
    Look complicated to more brought agreeable from you!

    However, how could we keep in touch?

  21. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.

    I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  22. Asking questions are actually fastidious
    thing if you are not understanding something fully, however this article provides pleasant understanding
    yet.

  23. 50, if they wish to buy drugs at an farmacia
    on line, you mayhave problems. As with any medical condition, you can download from the App
    Store — they’re all designed to work together. In some cases the man may not be that bad. John rolled our base color in each square and I went back in with a different picture of myself a few times, he can, if he came through U.

  24. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog audience have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

  25. This can be achieved from your office or home and this
    way you’ll avoid needing to walk around for hours inside crowded shopping malls. These necessities include drinks, food, and desserts. So, below I have provided some tips and ideas for you personally whether you’ve run out of ideas
    or are searching for something unique to give for Valentine’s Day.

  26. Somebody essentially lend a hand to make seriously posts I would
    state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and to this
    point? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this
    actual submit incredible. Fantastic task!

  27. Hello! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for
    this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and
    I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  28. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I believe that you need to publish more on this issue, it may not
    be a taboo matter but usually people do not discuss these topics.
    To the next! Kind regards!!

Leave a comment